Reader comment on Rumi, as told by Elif Shafak's passage ...

  • link
    On Apr 15, 2018 david doane wrote:

     The seven stages of the self make sense to me.  I think I became aware of being in a stage when I was in stage 3, Inspired Nafs, as I felt some sense of surrender to life and some sense that further growth was to come.  In this stage, I was aware that new awareness was happening for me, and I was aware of many questions and had a sense that more understanding was coming.  I think I have had experience in stage 4, some brief experience in stage 5, and at least gotten my toe occasionally into stage 6.  What helps me remain aware of the stage I am experiencing and supports my journey of evolution is times that I become aware that my awareness has deepened which is accompanied by a sense of satisfaction and gratitude.  Based on my own experience, I agree with the author that the journey is definitely not linear, as I have had brief experiences in a stage that was mostly beyond me, then tumbled back, and then sometimes have experiences of longer duration in a more advanced stage. 

Reply To This Reflection:

Search Awakin Readings

Or search by year or author.

Subscribe to Weekly Email

Every week, we send out a digest with a reading and inspiring stories to our global community of 94,204 people. Subscribe below.


Contact Us

If you'd like to suggest a thought or want to drop us a suggestion, drop us a note.